ANIME & MANGA REVIEW: Rumbling Hearts

0001040(3)Japanese Title: Kimi ga Nozomu Eien
Author: Tetsuya Watanabe
Genre: Drama, Romance, Tragedy, Shoujo, School Life, Slice of Life & Smut
Themes: Hospital, Pain, Suffering, Betrayal, Cheating, Heartbreak, Love & Sex

Format: Anime & Game

Plot:
At first, Takayuki Narumi is befriended by Mitsuki Hayase only because Mitsuki’s best friend, Haruka Suzumiya has a crush on him; however since then, Takayuki, his pal Shinji Taira, and Mitsuki have grown to be the best of friends. Then one day, Haruka confesses to Takayuki her love for him. Not wanting to hurt her feelings, Takayuki agrees to go out with her. After a few incidents, their relationship gets intimate, even while Takayuki and Mitsuki begin to realize their feelings for each other. But suddenly, when tragedy strikes, things are never the same for these four friends again.

Thoughts:
I have mixed feelings about this series as when I finished watching it I was heartbroken about how the story ended. On a whole the series promotes cheating, which naturally is a hard thing to condone as a lover or romance and all things to that effect; however the storyline before the cheating scandal was amazing – it was intense, beautiful and kept me anxiously waiting for the next episode.

There is a sequel to this series, an alternate ending as a lot of viewers felt the same as I did however I haven’t finished watching it yet. I do feel that to enjoy this series for all it’s worth you do need to be a stronger person than I am – as I tend to put myself in the position of the heroine in everything I read and watch to the point where it is habit – which is why I gave this a low rating.

Rating: 5/10

Leave a Reply

